To Pinterest or Not

I noticed since last year that I was getting a lot visitors to the blog from Pinterest, mainly for the Reds Waves Scarf.  Many thanks to all who pinned from my blog onto their boards.  I was pleasantly surprised to see that this particular item was so popular out there.

421839_496796647023740_1260985106_n
Now, while I browse through Pinterest every now and then to look for ideas, I have not joined in the pinning mania.  It does look like a good way to collect and organize all those ideas into boards, for future reference.  But it’s so easy to lose track of time and spend hours looking at all those boards. Plus, I get so many ideas and inspiration on what to do next, or what to try next, or to add on the to-do list that is now a mile long …  and I get a little depressed at the end of those two hours or so looking at all those beautiful crafts that everybody has the time to make and how they’re so good at making all those items …

This is what others have pinned from my blog.  There’s a lot of the same images and posts on it, which is probably pinned from other boards.

Pinterest board

 

So, do I really need another site to manage and maintain?

According to today’s WordPress News, maybe I do.  We all want some traffic on our blog, right?  So, the more your blog content is out there, the more people will see it and (maybe) click to read your blog.  hmmm ….

I’m going to have to think about this some more.  This is going to cut in on the increasingly diminishing quota of minutes that I have to sit in front of a monitor …

For now, I’ve added a Pinterest button to the posts.  So now you can pin to your board, if you like.  I’m still undecided about using Pinterest … or maybe I’m just over-thinking it.  Maybe I should start pinning and see how it goes …

 

8 thoughts on “To Pinterest or Not

  1. I love Pinterest, but agree it can eat into your creating time. People will pin directly from your blog even if you don’t pin yourself, so unless you want to invest time in building up a large following on Pinterest I wouldn’t worry too much! A pin from my site got over 5000 repins and it was from someone else’s pin! Totally great and totally unpredictable! :)

    • Thanks! That’s what I was seeing as well, repins from this one item that’s floating around out there, so I never really thought about doing anything on Pinterest for the blog. I’ve put it out of my mind for now, anyway.

  2. By the way I love the colours in this scarf and recognised it… from Pinterest! I only started following you recently and didn’t know this was your project. I will have to click through more often. :)

How do you like this?

