Hawaiian Flowers

I thought it was about time I started on some baby shower gifts.  I have two to attend in May, and I didn’t want to be finishing it up on the night before, like some recent ones in the past.  I had picked up some yummy Candy Baby from Bernat Baby Coordinates, and had been itching to start working with it.  I tried out some pattern swatches with it, but didn’t like it, so I frogged them and put the yarn away.

Last night, in the middle of another cold, arctic freeze, my brain put two and two together.  I’ve been wanting to try out the pattern Hawaiian Flowers by Sarah London for a while.  The colours in the yummy Candy Baby yarn reminds me more of flowers than candy.  My cousin, who is one of those expecting, used to live in Hawaii.  Ta-dah!  Perfect!

So late last night, I made two of the flowers, and decided that I would join as a I go.  Wasn’t sure I wanted to be joining all those squares with one or two single crochets, and then have a million ends to weave in.  This is what it looked like this morning.

1016211_10152538782758906_1388367459_n

It wasn’t looking too bad.  Since the yarn was already variegated, I didn’t exactly follow the pattern with all the yarn changes.  But looking at it and imagining it completed, the riot of colours started swimming in my eyes.  I started thinking about a contrast colour on the last row instead.

So I made up another pair, this time with some variegated pink that I found in the stash.

1653416_10152539124403906_1882682819_n

Not looking bad either.  Since it wasn’t pure white, it didn’t quite make the colours pop.  It gave the flowers a subtle outline instead. Hmmmm … that might work.

1660360_10152539127243906_645446733_n

I joined it to the two others to see the overall effect, and made two more.  Don’t know why I did that, because now if I want to frog the two made completely in variegated yarn, I would have to frog all.

1545646_10152539127118906_2092913902_n
And then I got some more suggestions of contrast colours – black, one of the other colours in the yarn, a complimentary colour, green … So what I’m doing now is just making the flowers, without the last row for now, until I decide on what colour I want to do the contrast colour in.  I suspect that I will be buying more Bernat Candy Baby.  I have one more baby layette to make, anyway, so I can play with all the contrast colours and put them together.  

20140125-204807.jpg

6 thoughts on “Hawaiian Flowers

  1. Ok, so I am not any good at figuring out how to ask questions other than by reply e-mail, sorry! Where can I find the pattern for the Hawaian Flowers motif? I also have some varigated yarn that I think would work well for it.

    I hope you can find it for me and send it!

    Thanks

    Linda

  2. Q – How clever! My daughter’s family lives in Hawaii. If only I could still crochet, this would be perfect for my granddaughter. Hum…. maybe I should teach her while we’re there in March!

How do you like this?

