African Violets

So … from my previous post I had talked about recently acquiring a stash of yarn, but not just any yarn.  It belonged to a departed aunt, and I wanted to make something with it.

There was purple variegated yarn and eggplant in one bag, and so I thought that perhaps African Violets, which she liked, would be a good pattern.  This is actually the African Flowers pattern; the African Violet flower has five petals, so this should have been a pentagon motif.  But I had hexagons on the mind.  Maybe I can still change it – I’ve only made four motifs so far.

20140709-123231-45151181.jpg

My plan is to use only the yarn that she had in her stash, and nothing more.  But my OCD brain is already mapping out the colour scheme.  The other colours she had in the other bag were fall colours – pumpkins, gold, coral, chilis.  I suppose that could still work with these colours, if correctly placed.

20140709-123611-45371055.jpg

Maybe this is what is wrong with me – I over-think.  I should just keep crocheting, let my fingers and my subconscious work it out on their own …

20140709-124633-45993767.jpg

I’ll make a few more of these … I’m determined to get my crochet mojo back …

 

 

5 thoughts on “African Violets

How do you like this?

