Progress: African Violets

Here’s my progress so far on the African Violets.  I’m actually doing quite good with keeping to this one project for the past week.

20140716-122512-44712543.jpg

I thought that two skeins each of the variegated, eggplant, and the brown would be enough to make a lapghan.  But it looks like I’ll have to go and get a a couple more, to get it that big.  My original plan was to use only the yarn that was available, without having to go and buy more.  The other colours – coral, pumpkin, orange, chili (red) – will have to be another project, since they don’t go with these colours in this pattern.  If it had been a random granny square pattern, or even this same pattern made in random colours.  But not like this, the way I’ve put it together now.

That’s how my mind works … it changes even during the project, away from what I planned in the beginning.  I had also planned to border all the motifs in brown, but after the first one put together, it looked too dark for me.

Then I had the idea to make a bigger hexagon around the middle one, but with the dark borders on the individual hexagons, then you wouldn’t see the bigger hexagon.

20140716-122510-44710943.jpg

My son had said to use purple again, for the borders, or maybe blue.  But then I was so far into the assembly, I didn’t want to rip it apart at this stage … or maybe I could still … hmmmm …. I’m going to have to buy more skeins of the variegated and eggplant anyway, another skein of blue or purple wouldn’t hurt … We’ll see …

I also adjusted the pattern a bit.  I was having a hard time figuring out that middle stitch to make the point/corner, so what I did was I just started making the point a row earlier.  Now I know where the corners are, and I don’t have to keep counting.

I’m still thinking that it’s coming out a bit dark.  Maybe the final product won’t look so dark … and maybe I should take photos in bright, natural sunlight, but I’m not home working on this during the day, so I take photos when I can.

20140716-122508-44708966.jpg

I’ll keep going with this for now … I’m sure my brain will figure out something that it likes …

2 thoughts on “Progress: African Violets

  1. I really like this pattern, it looks a really good way to use variegated yarn. I get lured into buying variegated yarn because it looks so pretty on the ball. I must have a look in my stash ( if I get time ) thanks for posting a wonderful idea

    • Using the variegated yarn turned out better than I thought. It’s the same with me – I like variegated yarn because it takes out half the work on colour designs, etc, but when I start to crochet, it doesn’t look so good again. Knitting with it turns out better designs. I try to look for the long colour changes now. It’s the short colour changes that doesn’t always translate well into a design. Thanks and good luck with yours!

How do you like this?

