My Never-Ending Diamond Strips

I am enjoying this project so much, I don’t want it to end.  I want to keep on crocheting strips and joining them together.

Have you ever had one of those projects, where you just want to keep on going and not finish?

This is one of my early works.  Again, it started out as a scrapghan.  Maybe I should stop thinking of calling these as scrap-ghans.  My idea of a scrap-ghan is to use up left-over yarn, in random colors and lengths.  Maybe I should just crochet rows for that, instead of a pattern.

Anyway, I wanted to try out the new diamond pattern, which is crocheted in one long strip.

After I finished the first red strip, I paired it with the variegated RH Aurora.  Then with a green.  And then it wasn’t a scrapghan any more, but a project with a color pattern.

After crocheting several strips, I used the available purple yarn that I had to single crochet a border around, then slip-stitched joined them together.  I liked the effect and the color combination, and so I continued.

If you will look closely, I have several shades of the red/burgundy/brick red and emerald green/kelly green, and the purple/lavender/violet yarn.  I didn’t have much experience in the different weights of yarn, so I had two or three different weights, which is what is making some of the diamonds puff up, as I try to match the border stitches when joining.  So maybe it is a scrapghan after all !

The RH Aurora was discontinued some years ago, and I couldn’t find it anywhere – not even eBay!  imagine that!  or maybe they were charging an outrageous price for one skein, so I didn’t bother.

In any case, I think it’s time to finish it up.  Maybe after one last try to look for the RH Aurora,  but I doubt that there’ll be any available out there, and if there is, it’ll be at an outrageous price.  Just one more red or green strip, and a purple border all around.

Then I can enjoy looking and using this heirloom piece instead of it sitting in the closet.

All good things come to an end, doesn’t it?

26 thoughts on “My Never-Ending Diamond Strips

  1. I see you made 12 diamonds, but what size do you think that made? Making one for a teen grandaughter.
    It is stunning and thank you for sharing.

    • Hi Petrina,
      Apologies for the delay in replying.
      What I have now is covering the top of a queen size bed.
      It is not wide enough to hang over the sides, if you would like that (and which I am also doing now – yes, still working on it). So add about four or five more diamond columns to make it wider.
      Would be interesting to see your finished project – there are so many variations to this.
      You’re welcome and thanks.
      Marissa

  2. I think it’s getting some traffic on pinterest – the never ending diamond in Red Heart blacklight yarn is what brought me here. I was google searching “never ending diamond” and I found you! How do you connect the strips? My mom has recently picked up crocheting after about a 10 hear hiatus and is asking me to hunt this pattern down.

    Beautiful work!

  3. Reblogged this on Colouring With Yarn and commented:

    This post has had a surge of interest over the last several days.
    I can’t trace it to where the traffic is coming from, but thank you very much to whoever has reposted it out there! Perhaps someday I’ll stumble across it on the internet …

  4. Lol! Sorry, guess I shouldn’t of schemed through your pattern! After I posted the question, I say the answer!

  5. I have been looking for the diamond motif instructions but I cant find it anywhere, I find other versions but I have been looking for the one in YOUR afghan…could you send me the instructions for JUST the diamond…please, please…

    • OMG! I just saw this, so sorry. The instructions for the diamond is a simple increase to 13 stitches, then decrease.
      Make two chains; sc in first ch
      Row 1: 2 sc in first ch; sc in next sc; turn
      Row 2: 2 sc in first st; sc across to end;
      Row 3: 2 sc in first st; sc in next st to end;
      Repeat rows 2 and 3 until you have 13 sc across;
      Start to decrease;
      Row 14: sc decrease in first two ch; sc across to end
      Row 15: repeat Row 14;
      Repeat rows 14 and 15 until you have one st left on hook
      (you can turn and sc in the remaining sc, then start Row 1 again) or
      Start from Row 1 again.
      Continue making the diamond motif until you reach the length you want.
      To make the shape more defined, sc evenly around the whole length.

      • So when you are done with first row of diamons, what is the next stitch between diamond rows? Single crochet or hdc? Love your blanket!

    • Thanks. I saw a project in a magazine, but the only thing I liked from it was the diamond strip pattern. I came up with the borders and the colour combinations. Don’t remember if they had the same join method.

    • Thanks. Yes, I didn’t expect the two sides to be different, so it was a surprise to see it. Looking at it now, the colours remind me of Christmas, for some reason. Maybe it’s the red and green combination.

  6. Pingback: My Never-Ending Diamond Strips « A little bit of this and that …

How do you like this?

