Scarves for Special Olympics 2013

September 2012 Update:  although Special Olympics International and Red Heart have concluded the project, a group of crafters have continued the project with individual state programs.   The latest updated information on this project can be found here

 

***********************************************************************

The colors for the Scarf Project for the USA Special Olympics 2013 should be announced any time soon.

Apparently there’s been some delay, either with them or with Red Heart, the yarn sponsor for the project, so the colors haven’t been announced yet.

It hasn’t stopped people from checking their Facebook page everyday to find out if the colors have been announced.  I’ve been checking in every now and then – sometimes twice a day!  LOL!  so that I can get started early.

My goal is to make more than the five scarves I made last year.  So I’m making sure that I find out  the colors early enough, so that I can start early.

I’ve written down the scarf patterns that I want to try making for the project, and still looking for new patterns.  I’ve even written out all the possible color combinations that can be made for each pattern.  And the spreadsheet is ready for when the states, the number required, and the deadline dates are announced, so that I can keep track of the project.  I’ll be posting updates on what I’m working on, so that will help keep me working on it.

Now, if they would only announce the colors, then I can add it to my to-do list and get started …

9 thoughts on “Scarves for Special Olympics 2013

    • Hi Katheryn,
      There’s 16 states participating as of now, and each has chosen their scarf colours. If you are on Facebook or Ravelry, click on the links on the sidebar.
      Thanks for the visit and hope you join our project!

      • I am the Executive Director of the Exceptional Foundation of West Tennessee located in Memphis. Many of our participants are involved with Special Olympics and we would like to make scarves for this project.We are going to set up a knitting club. i hope it is not too late, please get back with me as to how we can help, as soon as you can!!
        901-387-5002 i am Jo Anne

  1. I’ve done this for 2 years now, and I wait for the colors announcement so I can order my yarn.
    I do it for Arizona.

    • Hello! I missed out on the first year, and found out late last year, so I didn’t do much (only five scarves). I’ve been watching out for the announcements for next year’s colours, but nothing yet. The last update was that they would be announcing the colours this week. I’ll be updating on this, if you want to check back later in the week. Thanks for stopping by!

How do you like this?

