Vintage Crochet

Walking around the Old Town Market, San Diego, I came across this display 

outside the general store, and of course had to go inside to look for more. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I only came across two other crocheted items, but this is what really drew my attention, tucked in a corner, in a basket.

I flipped through the basket, which had a mix of these and some modern pattern books and magazines.  I finally selected this issue and went to pay for it.  The lady asked me if I knew how to crochet.  I replied that I did, and that I hoped that there would be some good patterns inside.  I also asked if this was a real magazine, and she replied that it was marked ‘vintage’ on the price tag, so it was real.

I’ve since researched on the internet, and yes, there was a Needlecraft magazine in print back then, which seems to have morphed into Needlecraft for Today in the 1970’s and 1980’s.  I don’t know if it’s morphed into another version for today, or if it’s out of print, as I didn’t see anything else after June 1982.  There are other sites, such as eBay and those for antiques, that sell these issues, and I did find one site selling this same issue No. 9 that I have.  The page featuring the an article on the latest shirtwaists and skirts even made it to Pinterest several months ago.  So there’s a few of these magazines still floating around out there.

Thankfully this issue had a lot of crochet-related items, since some issues I saw while researching had mostly sewing and tatting articles.  I chose this issue because I thought I could give the project on the front page a try.  I notice that there are a lot of trebles in the pattern, but maybe this is because the thread they used was so fine.  

Other samples of projects in the magazine:

Tatting ….

Doilies …  (this is another one I’d like to try – at least it’s in No. 30 thread, so maybe I can start with this).

And I thought I had discovered a new type of crochet – the Maltese crochet!  But, it was just another name for Hairpin Crochet – which I haven’t tried either, because I think it uses up too much yarn.

Here’s a glimpse on the other pages of the magazine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Vintage Crochet

  1. Wow! What an amazing find! I’d love to have that book for 14 yoke designs 🙂 I’m after a really cool collar pattern at the moment.

    • Thanks! I know what you mean – as I quickly looked through the magazine I would think ‘oh, that’s interesting, I want to have a closer look’, and then in the next second remember that this was from 96 years ago! LoL

  2. Pingback: Re-Discovered Doilies « Colouring With Yarn

  3. Wow! What a find. I love these old magazines, they offer so much more challenge and inspiration than today’s publications. Aren’t the butterfly motifs gorgeous? And those illustrations of the women and their fashions, just lovely. I have some books from this period that I often revert to when needing a different pattern, and I also have some great ones from the 70’s which have fantastic colour combinations. Just great to look at. Look forward to seeing your rendition of the fillet work.

    • Thanks. I’m still reading through it and just absorbing it for the moment. I’m trying to finish up the baby layettes first for the next two months, then I’m going to dig out the crochet thread and try out the patterns.

  4. Pingback: Johnson House « A little bit of this and that …

How do you like this?

