Scarf Project for Special Olympics is on!

Since my last post on picking up where the Scarves for Special Olympics left off, we now have eight states participating in the scarf project for next year’s games, and another eight discussing whether to join in. 

I thought I could just set up the page and it would take off, but somehow I’ve ended up as a coordinator for this project, which I don’t mind … just one more thing to squeeze in during the remaining minutes of the day!  Once the first rush of setting up has settled down, I’m sure the page won’t need so much attention from me.

Anyway, here’s where we stand as of today.  Eight states participating, and 5,150 scarves/items to make by January 30, 2013.  We’ve set up contact persons to receive the scarves, and keep track of the numbers.  We don’t want to send too much to the states, which is apparently why they concluded the program – and also the reason why some states chose not to participate this year either.  They received double what they requested for, that they had enough to use for next year’s games.  So, we hope to keep better track of how many scarves are being sent to the state programs. 

If you’re on Ravelry, there’s a group set up to discuss this – Special Olympics States Scarf Project. 

The  main Facebook page is Knit and Crochet for a Cause.  

And I will be able to go through my list of patterns after all to make scarves – if I can get to my hooks and needles.  So far this week I haven’t been able to start on anything since I’ve been busy with the pages.  This weekend, for sure … oh wait, we’ve got another soccer weekend tournament …. *sigh* … 

Do come over and join the cause. 

7 thoughts on “Scarf Project for Special Olympics is on!

  1. Pingback: SFSO 2012: Scarves for SO-South Dakota « Colouring With Yarn

  2. Pingback: Tournaments and Projects « A little bit of this and that …

How do you like this?

