Knitting in the Rain

So, yesterday I went to the US Open Tennis tournament, and spent most of the time waiting out rain delays.  Since I knew that would be a likely past-time, I packed up two projects (one knit, one crochet), so that I would have something to do.

There was nowhere under a shelter that I could sit and knit, unless I sat on the floor in the general corridor, which I didn’t want to do because it was too crowded and the floor was kind of wet.  There were tables under umbrellas outside the stadium, but they were sort of reserved for the mini-bar tents that were set up, so I didn’t want to do that in between all the jostling and drinking people.  So I went back out to the stadium seat and sat there under my umbrella instead, waiting for the drizzle and sprinkle to finish.

What I didn’t realize was that it would be kind of hard knitting with only one hand, because the other hand was holding the umbrella!  lol

Here’s what I tried to work on.  I’m trying out a new pattern, the Trellis Lace Scarf, in Caron Simply Soft.  The original yarn in the pattern was more of a sock yarn, so the trellis and the lace is more defined.  With thicker yarns, it’s coming out as two columns (I changed it to two columns, instead of the three columns from the pattern), then the trellis/lace part.  You can’t really see it in the picture; I tried to spread it out, but didn’t do a good job with one hand and on top of the bag on my lap.

*sigh*  The things we do to try a get a little yarn time in.  I had to pack it up after one row, and just sat there and watched people walking by.

Where have you tried to work on your projects?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Knitting in the Rain

  1. Pingback: What’s Wrong With This? « Colouring With Yarn

How do you like this?

