Moss Stitch vs Seed Stitch, British Seed vs American Moss

This past summer, Lion Brand Studio in NYC held a Stitch-a-Palooza.  I got there an hour before it finished, but was able to sit in on several of their 20-minute presentations on different stitches.
One of those was a presentation on the (knit) moss stitch family.

I have always liked the texture and design of the pattern, ever since I learned to knit when I was a young girl.  I wasn’t really concerned about what the stitch was called, what was important was that that I knew how to do it.  Later on, I would see both names used for the same stitch pattern, and read elsewhere that it was the same stitch with different names.  It was a little confusing, but I didn’t pay any attention to it – I just continued to knit the pattern.

So I was delighted to see that there was a presentation on the Moss Stitch Family and made sure to sit in to unconfuse myself.  But then I got confused again.

Here’s the sample of seed stitch that was passed around.  K1 P1 on the first row, then P1 K1 on the second row.

I was okay with that so far, even though this ‘rib’ and ‘broken every row’ was already confusing me, but my knitting kind of looked like that, so I figured I was still okay.

  

And then, the swatch on the ‘Double Seed Stitch’ came out.  And there was this ‘rib’ again, and this time, ‘broken every 2 rows’.   So now, it’s K1P1 for two rows?  hmmmm ….

  

I was wondering if I had to re-learn the stitch again.  And then the ‘Moss Stitch’ swatch came out …

And now, I’m double confused.  This looks like a K2 P2 then P2 K2 pattern.   Okay, I’ve done that before too.

But then this suggests that there is a difference to the Moss Stitch and Seed Stitch after all …  So is that the difference between the seed stitch and the moss stitch?  One is K1 P1 for one or two rows, and the other is K2 P2 for two rows?

Intrigued now, I went googling (is that a verb yet in the official dictionary?)  and came upon the Creative Knitting magazine blog and their version of  Seed vs Moss Stitch .  And this article now introduces the British Moss Stitch (which is the same stitch as the Seed Stitch) and the American Moss Stitch (which is a more elongated stitch).

Seed Stitch
(Over an even number of stitches)
• Row 1: *K1, p1; rep from * across.
• Row 2: *P1, k1; rep from * across.
• Rep Rows 1 and 2 for pattern.

vs

American Moss Stitch
(Over an uneven number of stitches)
• Rows 1 and 4: K1, *p1, k1; rep from * across.
• Rows 2 and 3: P1, *k1, p1; rep from * across.
• Repeat Rows 1–4 for pattern.

*ssiiggghhhh*  I think I’m just going to ignore whatever name they call it, and just knit the pattern that I like.  How about that?  In the meantime, here’s some samples they had on display.   Oh, I liked the idea in the article about changing needle sizes (from big to smaller needles), which produces a wavy pattern without having to decrease.  Yaaayy!!  something new to try for the scarves! 

   

3 thoughts on “Moss Stitch vs Seed Stitch, British Seed vs American Moss

  1. Pingback: What’s Wrong With This? « Colouring With Yarn

  2. Pingback: It Runs in the Family … « Colouring With Yarn

How do you like this?

