It Runs in the Family …

My mother learned how to knit and crochet from the ladies at the club, while they waited for their husbands to finish their socializing and dart games at the bar. She made a couple of table cloths and matching crochet dresses for my sister and myself.  She in turn taught me to crochet, and I dutifully crocheted swatches to learn the stitches.  She stopped crocheting after a while.

I learned a little more about knitting, when it was featured during a home economics class one semester. I learned enough to know that I liked the seed stitch and the double seed stitch patterns/stitches, and that I didn’t learn how to increase or decrease because I didn’t pay attention. As school, friends and playtime took over, knitting and crocheting dropped by the wayside.

I would pick up crochet or knitting every now and then, when I wanted to do something different, but then would set it aside again. Just before the birth of my first son, I decided that I wanted to make a baby blanket. But then Mother-in-Law, who was Scottish, sent over a package full of knitted matching sets – sweater, pants, booties, mittens. I promptly put away my knitting. In hindsight, I should have asked her to teach and show me all the tricks of knitting. *sigh*

I did continue with crochet however, with which I was more comfortable working with. And so I crocheted on, even when the boys and others teased me about such a ‘grandmotherly’ hobby.  And as far as I know, none of my other aunts and cousins did any crochet or knitting.

Imagine my surprise when I met up with aunts whom I hadn’t seen in years, and when they saw pictures of some of my finished projects, they said that I had other cousins who also crocheted, and an aunt who was very much into crafts! Whaattt !! All these years?? and I didn’t know about this? How come this never came up before??

So when I visited my aunt recently in the Philippines, I was on the lookout for crafty creativeness. And voila!

The first thing I saw was this crocheted tablecloth.

I looked and looked where the joins were, and couldn’t find them. She was that good?! wow

And she said that she had also crocheted a bedspread, identical to the tablecloth. She said that she wasn’t good at following patterns, so after she got the basic pattern, she just branched off on her own design. Just like me 🙂 I’m in good company, then, since I don’t always follow a pattern completely and end up doing something different instead.

I found this as well, tucked away in a corner. Looks vintage.

And a painting of a crocheted doily for display.

And her current project were these felt kits, for their Christmas bazaar. Haven’t done this before, but the amount of work that goes into it … cutting out the outlines for each piece, stitching on the faces, the shadows, the creases, then stuffing or batting behind and putting them all together … not sure if I would have the patience for that.

So now I know where I get the crafty genes from !

7 thoughts on “It Runs in the Family …

How do you like this?

