What’s Wrong With This?

During my recent trip, I brought some of my WIPs, plus some new yarn to start projects and try out patterns.  That’s how ambitious I was.  Did I really think I was going to have so much time to just sit and knit or crochet?  I didn’t know, but I was prepared, just in case I did.

It was only after I got to the hotel and unpacked that I noticed this.  What’s wrong with these pictures? They’re all knitting projects !!

Who would have thought?  Maybe because I have a little more patience now than I did before, and I’m a little more comfortable when following knitting directions and patterns and understand what all those abbreviations and letters mean (oh, there’s still some abbreviations out there that I don’t know and get confused when I try to follow it; and knitting lace still seems like a forever-to-learn project).  Or maybe because I only have two-three skeins of the sample yarn, and knitting uses up less yarn in a project than crocheting.  Whatever the case, I’m starting more and more knit projects.

20121029-162051.jpg

Ok, so these ones are all in the same pattern – the Trellis Lace Scarf.  That’s what happens when I learn a new pattern and it actually turns out half-way decent, so I just use the same pattern in two-three projects.  It didn’t come out the same way as the original pattern, so I experimented with different yarns, and a little modification – from one to three ribbed columns.  The multi-coloured purplish one is the one I was working on while waiting for the rains to stop at the US Open Tennis games.  It’s coming along well.  The brown one in the middle is a variation.  And the red on the right is one I started during my travels; I think I started this on the plane.  I thought the colour variations would look good with the pattern, but I’m not seeing it yet.  Maybe when it’s done.

Here’s one I finished, soon after I got home.  It’s made with the Lion Brand merino wool, knit in the round, in a simple pattern:  k2 p2 for two rows, then knit all around for two rows; alternate the four rows to width desired. I also used two different colours for the two sets, which gives it a little ripply effect on the eyes.  I’m happy with the way this turned out; and the yarn is soft and cuddly too!

20121029-162127.jpg

20121029-162136.jpg20121029-162149.jpg20121029-162159.jpg

Just before I left on the trip, I got the Malabrigo Ravelry Red samples that I had bought.  So, during the plane trip, I started on a moss stitch pattern.  (sorry for the blurry picture; I still haven’t gotten the hang of taking pictures with a phone camera!)  This is what it looked like at the beginning.

20121029-162340.jpg

I’m about two feet into the project, and I’ve already improvised on the pattern.  We’ll see how it turns out later.

3 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With This?

  1. Pingback: In Trouble Again … « Colouring With Yarn

  2. The green scarf is AMAZING! It would make a beautiful stitch to use for a blanket too 🙂 You know what… I do the same thing – promise and plan to start using new and different patterns, end up buying way too much yarn, and things never happen until they happen. I’m a creature of habit and I like to stick to my old faithful patterns, but end up using my scrap yarn to try out newer things.

    Bottom line, yarn makes me happy — even when all it does is sit around the house, collecting dust, waiting for me to make time for it again… There is nothing wrong with having a long list of WIP’s (at least I keep on telling myself this!) 🙂

    • Oh, you’re right. That pattern would also look good for a blanket. LoL – yes, we do the same things – I’ve got patterns I want to try and yarn that I want to match to a pattern … and end up with the same pattern with different yarns. Whatever makes you happy … it’s all good.

How do you like this?

