Up in the Air Again

Well, I’m off flying again, this time to Uganda, Africa. And of course I had to pack way too many WIPa with me.

Remember the Malabrigo loro baranquerro yarn that I had started to work with?

20121121-084956.jpg

Well, I frogged that because it was starting to curl at the sides, and wouldn’t lay flat. It was rolling up into a tube, which I didn’t like. I thought I had read somewhere that if it was alternate knit and purl on the sides that it would lay flat. But it didn’t.

This is what it looks like now. The pattern I’m flowing said it was a brioche stitch but I’m not sure it looks like other brioche stitches I had seen. Maybe a variation?

20121121-085137.jpg           20121121-085145.jpg

20121121-085130.jpg

So, this one lays flat, which is good. And with these long flights, I might actually finish this before I reach Entebbe. Too bad it’s the dry and hot season there, so I won’t be able to use it.
It’ll have to wait till I get back to the US and cold weather.

3 thoughts on “Up in the Air Again

  1. Pingback: Finishing up the Old Year | Colouring With Yarn

  2. Glad you found a stitch that worked 🙂 Stockinette stitches (knit,purl, repeat) will make the pattern curl up at the ends. The garter stitch (just knit) works great for preventing curl as does simply adding a border to the stockinette stitch (the seed stitch looks great along the stockinette). Hope this helps!

How do you like this?

