The Christmas Scarf

With weather forecasts bringing possible winter storms and snow, I went to Walmart’s on Christmas Eve, for a quick run for grocery essentials … and sort of wandered into the yarn aisle 🙂   And was surprised to see this – Lion Brand Amazing yarn.

20130101-145412.jpg

It’s usually not carried in this store. And it was on sale. So I just had to get three skeins of Mauna Loa.

A few hours later, I was trying out a new pattern – the Modified Linen Stitch, which I got from Ravelry.  I liked the v-stitch effects on the scarf, knitted with two contrasting colours.  Since the yarn was already multi-coloured, it didn’t quite show up the v-effect. Next time I’ll try the stitch with two different colours.

20130101-145429.jpg

I wasn’t sure if I was doing the stitch right.  The pattern said to slip a stitch, but I didn’t know if it was to slip knit-wise or slip purl-wise.  I slipped purl-wise, and to be consistent, I continued what I was doing.

DS2_3946

I knitted this waiting up on Christmas Eve, and continued for the next two days.  Another record for me, as I usually knit slow.  Or maybe I was enjoying learning the new stitch, that I didn’t notice how slow I was knitting.

DS2_3893

Then I got adventurous, and decided to try knitting a hat in the same pattern.  I don’t know (yet) how to knit with the double pointed needles, so I just knitted a rectangular swatch with the pattern.  After binding off, I crocheted the two short ends together, then continued to single crochet around, decreasing at regular intervals on each row, then pulling the top together.

DS2_3920

It turned out nicely, to my surprise. A little loose around, but that’s okay.

DS2_3907

And so now I had a new hat and scarf set, just after Christmas.

DS2_3936

 

I just need to block the edges of the cowl so it doesn’t keep curling.  Or maybe not – once it’s wound around the neck, the curling edges doesn’t bother me so much when I see it.

Now let’s see how long I can hold on to this, before somebody asks for it  🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Christmas Scarf

How do you like this?

