When Inspiration Hits

… Or impulsiveness ?

Mikey’s Crochet Afghan Club is having an Octagon and Squares Afghan challenge, based on a Red Heart pattern.

It ends in five days.  And I told myself when it started that I wouldn’t have time to work on this, because I had so many things going on.  And yet, as I looked through the postings of the completed afghans, I wanted to jump in and make one as well.

20130315-145000.jpg

And so two nights ago, I started pulling out whatever yarn I had to mix and match colours.  

20130315-145011.jpg

And started making center motifs, with a vague idea of what I wanted it to look like. 

20130315-145020.jpg

I completed a square, which wasn’t looking too bad, with the colour choices that I finally decided on. 

20130315-145027.jpg

I quickly completed two octagons and then joined them together to see how it would work.

20130315-145112.jpg

Hmmm … not sure I’m liking this combination or colour sequence.   What do you think?

But I can’t switch it all around now, I’ll run out of time and probably yarn.  Perhaps when everything is put together and all done, it  will look better.  It’s not a judging competition, anyway; the winner is going to be picked by a random number.  So I can always plan the colours and pattern for the next one …

Will I finish this in time for the deadline next Wednesday, the 20th?  Stay tuned …

How do you like this?

