Painting Flowers

DS2_5627

I finally got around to experimenting with colouring flowers. My son got white daffodils and roses for me, so that’s what I worked with. With food colouring ready, I pulled out glasses to place the flowers in.   As instructed, I trimmed the ends diagonnally under water.  Then I sliced about an inch and half up the stem.

 

This is how the red and green roses came out, after about 18 hours in the dye.

DS2_5600

DS2_5590

These were the blue and green daffodils.

DS2_5606

I think the yellow rose turned out the best.  Well, it turned the white rose evenly yellow, no lines or spots.

DS2_5645

For the second twenty-four hours, I moved all the flowers one glass over, to another colour.  It didn’t change much after that.  I don’t know if it was because the flowers weren’t so fresh, or that I didn’t have enough dye in the glasses.  Maybe next time I’ll shorten the stem – so maybe the dyes won’t have to travel far?  Or add more dye to the water.  In any case, I’m happy with how this first experiment turned out.  More ideas for the next one ….

6 thoughts on “Painting Flowers

  1. Another great post! I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Blog Award! Thanks for making me feel at home here 🙂

  2. This is a basic 1st grade science lesson. If you had learned it before you would know that once you add a serious color, like blue or orange, no other color will over ride it. The only way to get around that is to make a new cut in the stem, put it in clear water for a day, then add your second color. You may not see much change as once flowers have been cut the “drawing up process” slows down considerably as the flowers are no longer in the sun and growing, and there is no roots to pull and force up the water.

    • Thanks for the science lesson. I didn’t attend school in the US, so I’ll have to ask my boys if they did this when they were in first grade. And I probably wasn’t paying attention in class, if this was the lesson for the day!

How do you like this?

