Mystery Knits

Since I have successfully participated in two crochet-a-long challenges – meaning that I started and finished the items – I decided that maybe I should come out of my comfort zone and try a knit-along this time. I think that with the little I know about knitting that I will be able to keep up with the project.

Of course, there is no shortage of knit along projects. And at the time I was looking for one to join, I came upon the Sage Yarn Mystery Knit Along. It sounds easy enough, so I signed up . And a bonus! It only cost $8.00, which is really just for the pattern, and sounds a lot. But I signed up for other crochet CALs (I’ll write about those in a separate post) which cost a lot more than that, so I was quite happy about the $8.   Getting the first set of instructions, I need six skeins of sport weight yarn in six different colours – yep, I must have six of the same yarn brand in my stash. I looked at the Special Abbreviations to see if there were any particular stitches there that I would find troublesome and didn’t find any. A pattern comes out every week, so the blocks are only about five inches in measurement.

So I went digging in my stash this weekend. I should say digging through part of the stash – as in the stash that I could get my hands on. The rest of the stash is still up in the attic … That’s for another day.

One problem about digging through the stash is that you discover all the other yarn that you put away … which reminds you that you bought that particular yarn to try that particular project … or else now you know what project to use that yarn for … or that you actually have enough yarn to use for that project that you’ve even eyeing and so you don’t need to go shopping for yarn for that project … *sigh* … ok, put away the yarn again, and look for sport weight yarn in six different colors ….

I came up with this – Cascade 220, which I had bought a long time ago.

20140209-191330.jpg

When I first discovered Cascade Yarns, it was ‘the’ yarn of the year for me. I had bought some skeins off Craigslist from someone who had finished knitting her blanket and was getting rid of her extra skeins, and couldn’t believe how soft it was … I went on eBay, and sure enough, there were several sales going on, and look, somebody was selling twelve skeins at a decent price …

After much thinking about the color pairings, I decided to start off with the brown heather and orange.  The brown had some reddish flecks in it, which doesn’t really come out in the photos.  And this is what the first block pattern looks like.

20140209-165227.jpg

I think this is what it’s supposed to look like.  The pattern looks right.  I was searching online if anybody had posted about their first block but couldn’t find any.  Guess that’s why it’s a mystery?  lol

20140209-165235.jpg

Anyway, I shall continue knitting.  The second block pattern came out already, and the third block pattern will be coming out this week, so I better catch up before it gets away from me … I’ll let you know what kind of progress I’ve made …

3 thoughts on “Mystery Knits

  1. Pingback: The Year of the CALs Continues … | Colouring With Yarn

How do you like this?

