The Year of the CALs Continues …

Last year, I ventured out of ‘solo’ crocheting and joined challenges and CALs. I completed two challenges, and 1/6 of two other CALs.

I think I’m addicted, because this year I signed up for three more CALs and a KAL this year. I have no idea why I did that, when I really should be working on finishing the other CALs. Hopeless, hopeless, hopeless …

After much internal debate, I signed up for the Jane Crowfoot’s 2014 Crochet Club.  janiecrowfootOnce again, I was intrigued with her designs – this year it has a 60’s flair to it.  I opted to just purchase the patterns, instead of the full kit, hoping to cut down on the costs.  I thought that purchasing the yarn here locally would be much better, and I could choose my own colour palette.  After going online to order the yarn, it did come out at a lower cost than if I purchased the kit, but not by much.   Or maybe that’s because I added some extra balls in there … Anyway, the yarn arrived two weeks ago – and I haven’t had time to even open up the box.  Suddenly, there are soccer tournaments to run – and the season hasn’t even started yet!

Earlier this year, out of the blue, I thought of kaleidoscopes

kaleidoscope-crochet-blanket-club-2014-391-c[ekm]300x146[ekm]and decided that I should come up with a kaleidoscope pattern to crochet.  I ended up on Ravelry and Pinterest looking for kaleidoscope inspiration and stumbled upon the Kaleidoscope Crochet Blanket Club by Amanda Perkins instead.  So I joined that too.  The yarn arrived three weeks ago.  I still haven’t wound the skeins into balls yet, and have not started on the first motif yet.  There’s over 600 motifs to complete the blanket …

hexagon projectFrom the bucket list, a hexagon project has been on my mind for some time now, and was planning to start up one this year.  I was thinking of using the African Flower pattern.  But then I started browsing in Ravelry (which I shouldn’t have done) … because now I’ve come across The Hexagon Project by Agrarian Artisan.  This is by far the cheapest of the CALs – $1.71 for the patterns.  There are no yarn purchases – unless you absolutely have to – but this yarn is coming from the stash.  I’m going to have to dig through the stash again to look for yarn for this CAL … and for the KAL as well.

Halfway through knitting the first square, I didn’t like the colors I had chosen for the Sage Yarn KAL.  So I’ve stopped knitting, and am now four weeks behind!!  So it’s back to the stash for colors that I want to work with now …

I think my big projects are pretty much set for the year, with these CALs and KAL.  In between I’ll be making hats, scarves, cowls for instant gratification or to fill in the time before the next pattern comes out … if I ever catch up with the patterns … *sigh*

4 thoughts on “The Year of the CALs Continues …

  1. Pingback: National Crochet Month 2014 | Colouring With Yarn

  2. Wow! I feel so honoured that you have my CAL amongst some of the famous designers! Thank you so much 🙂 I hope you enjoy The Hexagon Project – I certainly enjoy seeing what everyone makes with them xx

  3. Those are some great CALs! I’m with you. I’d rather buy my own colors (and save a little cash) than purchase kits. Although, I see why people get them.

    • Yeah, great CALs, and maybe more than I can handle right now … but I’m still happy 🙂 This year the Jane Crow Crochet Club offered two options; before we had to buy the whole kit and caboodle! Choosing or matching the colors as close to the original kit was work too, but fun.

How do you like this?

