2015 Special Olympics Scarf Project: Summer Lull

I know it’s the height of summer, and working on winter items is the complete opposite of what we want to do.  I know that I am inspired to work with wools and winter items when there’s a cool nip in the air, and cooler winds are blowing in.  I also know that I don’t knit or crochet fast enough to finish a scarf or shawl in time for the cold winds.  Well, except for hats, but really, how many hats can you wear at a time?

Anyway, I’m seriously starting up on winter items now.  Specially for the Special Olympics 2015 Winter Games.  The wonderful crafters over at the Facebook Knit and Crochet for a Cause were better than me – some have been plugging away with scarves, headbands, earwarmers, hats for the participating state program.

Like this beautiful earwarmer – my eyes always light up when I see this.  I think it’s that button that draws my eyes. Thanks so much for your beautiful work, Phyllis!

so tennessee earwarmers4

 

So far, we have fourteen states participating in the 2015 Scarf Project.  We may hear back from two or three other states, but since they haven’t replied to my emails, then maybe they’re not interested.  We have enough to work on for now, anyway, but there’s also a little bit of regret that they choose not to continue participation.

These are the states participating this year.  If you see a state for whom you may want to support, or maybe just because you like the colour combination chosen by a state, you are more than welcome to make an item or two and send it on.
Complete details and information can be found here, and in the Facebook and Ravelry page links on the sidebar.

2015 KC4SO

How do you like this?

