My First Successful Slouchy Hat

It’s almost the end of summer … those cold winds are coming back … we’re all going to be bundled up again … I am so not ready for that so soon!  Well, we can’t stop Mother Nature either …

During an unexpected lull in activities and work, I picked up hook and yarn and decided that I was going to figure out how this slouchy hat/beanie was going to be made.  I had followed patterns before, but they never turned out right.  Some looked like it was a chef’s hat.  Others turned out to be over-sized berets.  So I put away all the patterns and just started crocheting with what I know about making hats.

After three tries – two of them completed hats already but it didn’t slouch the way I liked it – I came up with this.  Tah-daahh!!!

1422369_419473838193408_1219001977316289765_n

I think I like this.  In fact, this is my first ever successful slouchy hat.  It’s finally slouching in the back like I think it should !!  Something came to mind though … Back in the day when I was just starting to learn how to crochet a beanie hat, I think I was making slouchy hats back then and didn’t know it … oh welll …

There’s been several requests for the pattern for this particular one.  I didn’t follow any pattern for this; I was just winging this.  This is just a basic beanie pattern, really, nothing different.  Here is what I did to get this.  If you find something doesn’t work with this pattern, do let me know.  I don’t usually write out my patterns as I’m experimenting, so this is written after the fact.

**************

HDC Slouchy Hat

Hook:  I used an H-5.00mm hook
Yarn:  this yarn looked/felt to be DK weight.

For this same effect, choose a variegated yarn with longer colour changes.  
If working with solid colour yarns, change the colour every 1 – 2 rows. 

Pattern:
Setup:  ch 5; sl st to form a circle;

Top:
Round 1:  8 hdc in circle; slst to join;
Rnd 2:  ch 2, hdc in same st; * 2 hdc in each st;* slst to join; (16 hdc)
Rnd 3:  ch 2, hdc in same st; *hdc in next st; 2 hdc in next st * slst to join (24 hdc)
Rnd 4:  ch 2, hdc in same st; *hdc in ext 2 st; 2 hdc in next st* slst to join (32 hdc)
Rnd 5:  ch 2; hdc in between the stitches around (not through the top loops); slst to join

Body:
Rnds 6 – 25:  repeat Round 5 nineteen/twenty times – OR until it is 10 inches in length – OR the length you want;
Rnd 26: ch 2: *hdc in next 6 st; hdc dec in next two st;* slst to join
Rnd 27: repeat Round 26;

Brim:
Rnds 28-32:  ch 2; sc around; slst to join.

Fasten off.

**************

Things to keep in mind about these slouchy hats:
– It’s somewhere in between a beanie and a beret … the top doesn’t have to fit the crown of the head, and the body is not as wide as the beret;

– The basic construction is a narrow top, long body, and a slightly narrower/smaller brim.  If the head opening/brim is too small for the intended recipient, I would normally evenly increase the last two rounds of the body by ten stitches, then start the brim pattern.

– Yarn and tension may make a difference.  You may need to crochet with a bigger hook or looser tension, if the yarn is worsted weight/bulky, because you need some sort of ‘drape’ and not just hang down stiffly in the back.  This was a DK yarn – actually, I’m not sure what it is; it was from a donation for NYC Hats for Hope Initiative (my charity cause), and it didn’t have any labels on it.  So my best guess is DK yarn, and if I do find out what it is, I’ll edit this.

And there you have it – my first slouchy hat that I like.  Enjoy!

10615552_419473854860073_5216923596956286807_n

8 thoughts on “My First Successful Slouchy Hat

  1. Pingback: Finishing Off 2014 | Colouring With Yarn

  2. Pingback: Slouchy Variations | Colouring With Yarn

  3. It looks great! Also, check out the Metropolitan hat pattern from Lionbrand. That is my favorite slouchy hat pattern because you can make it super slouchy or less slouchy, depending on tastes. My blog features a less slouchy version. Thanks for sharing!!!!

How do you like this?

