Textured Purples and Greens

From the bag of donated yarn for my charity/cause, I came across this one big skein of beautiful colours.  No brand name on the tag, just that it was !00% wool.  It had nice texture – wavy and thick and thin.  It dawned on me that maybe this would look better woven than knitted or crocheted.  Excitedly, I warped the loom.

2015/02/img_9120.jpg

There was another ball purple cashmere-mixed yarn in the bag, and thought it would do well as the weft.  As I wove, I asked the boys how it looked.  Nice, they said, but it was kind of looking dark. Hmmm… so I went back digging into the bag and came up with a Cascade Superwash, in a lime green color and added that to the weft. And here’s the finished product.  It’s about six feet long and nine inches wide.

2015/02/img_9150.jpg

No particular pattern on the weft.  I just wound yarn onto the shuttle until I thought it was enough.  2015/02/img_9155.jpgThe self-striping colors on the wool made up its own pattern – random stripes and random widths of colors.  I was enjoying weaving with this yarn.

2015/02/img_9158.jpg

For the most part, the selvages stayed straight.  But  I think that because I was using two different weights of yarn on the weft, the tension was a little uneven, and there are sections that pulled down.  There’s mistakes along the way – a missed warp thread here and there, uneven tension here and there … Certainly more practice needed but I’m happy with it.

2015/02/img_9161.jpg

On to the next project!

4 thoughts on “Textured Purples and Greens

    • LoL – maybe someday we can touch and feel stuff on the computer screen. I like the way how this turned out, even with mistakes and all (= justification to keep it for myself instead of give it away!)

How do you like this?

