Hawaiian Lace

I made the deadline!!

Cutting it close, but I knew that I would be staying up late during the weekend and would get a lot done.  Anyways … here’s the finished shawl … blocked and cleaned up, and modeled by Charisse!

hawaiian lace red2

hawaiian lace red

I used a portable steamer to block this.  The yarn, SWTC Pure, was 100% soysilk, and I didn’t want to risk soaking it, and then squeezing or accidentally wringing too hard and pull it out of shape.  I laid it out on the bed on top of two beach towels (those were the only ones big enough for this).  I held the steamer about an inch off the top, and gently pulled and flattened it into shape while steaming.  After a last pull to even out, I left it drying for a couple of hours.

It’s a nice and easy pattern, good for beginners, and even though the middle – mesh – part seemed to take ages to finish, it looks good.  Even Tin says the mesh part looks complicated, so you know it looks good.  It’s light and airy, and big enough to wrap around you, without it feeling heavy, even if you throw the ends over your shoulders for a tighter wrap,.

The pattern is available on Ravelry – Hawaiian Lace.  Go and check it out.

And since that’s my pattern obsession for now, I’m going to continue and finish this other one I started at the same time as the red one … remember this?  I’ll probably take my time doing this .. This one is a bit fiddly to work with …

8 thoughts on “Hawaiian Lace

  1. Pingback: Learning the Clasp Weft Technique | Colouring With Yarn

  2. Pingback: Changing Yarn Tastes | Colouring With Yarn

  3. | | | |

    | | | I made this one when I was 10 years old for my first project. Can you come up with something prettier? |

    | | | |

    |

    | | | Stationery, a Yahoo Mail and Paperless Post collaboration |

    |

    • lol really? You mean a pineapple pattern project, or this exact one? I’d like to see that, it would be interesting.
      If you read my other post, I had started another one with a variation. I think it’ll be pretty.
      How about you come up with something prettier? I’ll test it for you.

How do you like this?

