Catching Up …

Whew!  Just realized I haven’t posted in a while on this blog!

So here’s hoping you had a good end-of-year holiday season and all the best for the new year!

I was travelling for work, and wifi was spotty too.  I also thought that I would be able to work on WIPs or start a new one, but surprisingly, I didn’t get a chance to do that either.  It was late nights and weekends too, so I was catching up on sleep instead!

There was that one night when I was so stressed out at work, I took12313705_939416949446589_2516362218822365726_n out all the yarn I brought with me, and just played with them.  I tried to start something, but my mind wouldn’t settle down, so I just sat on the bed and wound up the hanks into balls.  That was enough to settle my brain.  I’ll keep that in mind for the next time I’m frazzled – just sit and wind yarn into balls.   It had a calming and relaxing effect, just to keep winding yarn into a ball.  Try it the next time you’re stressed.

On the flight back home, there was an 11-hour stretch for the last leg.  11 hours !!  Wow – definitely I was going to have time to work on something then.  The flight was delayed on departure, so while sitting in the waiting lounge, I took out yarn and needles and casted on with that purple-orange-blue-red yarn.  I wanted to work on the linen stitch again, and thought that maybe it would work with the variegated yarn.

I also thought that I could practice the continental (picking) method with this stitch.  I was beginning to see the extra motions that I made when using the ‘throwing’ method.  For the linen stitch, the continental method works well.  There is less motion/movement than if I was holding the yarn with the right hand.  And 11 hours was more than enough time to practise the continental method – I was all thumbs, fingers, and tangled yarn when I started.

I wasn’t too happy with the colour combination once it was on the needles.  Maybe the colour changes were not long enough.  Or maybe the wrong gauge.  Anyway, I decided to continue with it.  I only had one ball of this colour, and the other three balls were also lone balls.  So I decided to use all four balls in the cowl, and make it a cowl for all seasons.

This is how far I’ve got.  I’m on the third ball, and it’s just about six inches wide.  Hopefully when it’s done that it’ll be a good size width.  Because, you know – as usual, I didn’t count how many stitches I cast on, and didn’t do any kind of math to figure out how much yarn I had to work with so that I can at least have a finished item that doesn’t look like it ran out of yarn that’s why it’s such an odd size!  lol

Now that it’s all together, the orange-blue-purple combination doesn’t really look so bad, does it?  hmmm …

img_1519

 

I don’t mind the orange-purple combo …

img_1520

Maybe that blue-orange combo will grow on me …

What do you think?

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Catching Up …

How do you like this?

