Snowed-In Show and Tell

Well … after being cooped up inside because of the Blizzard 2016, I made the most of that time by catching up on projects … starting new ones … or just playing with yarn.

So here’s what I was able to work on this past weekend.

I finished the second panel for the blanket ….
… and started on the third panel.

The second panel came out shorter than the first panel, so there’s going definitely going to be some sewing, cutting and adjustments when putting the panels together.   

And seeing the finished width, before wet-finishing, I think I’m going to need a fourth panel so that it covers at least a single or twin bed.  Maybe a fifth …

 

The Double-layered Braided Cowl is the latest trend going around the crochet forums.  I had seen the pattern on my newsfeed, and it was the first time that I wanted to pick up hook and yarn and make one right now, instead of just saving the pattern for a later day.  So, after the initial fiddling about, I came up with a cowl, an experimental earwarmer with three braids, and an experimental earwarmer with chunky yarn!  How about that!

img_0089
Oh, wait … so now I have a set of earwarmer, hat, and neckwarmer/cowl in the same chunky yarn!

I’m adding this in, although I finished this a couple of weeks ago.  The Granny Shrug – I can’t find where I got this from, but if you google the Granny Shrug, you’ll get to the website.  It’s basically a big granny, then fold it in half to form a rectangle.  Then sew about 20 inches of one edge, which will form the sleeves.  I added a cuff to the sleeve, to make it longer.  I ran out of the black yarn, so I added the purple to finish it.  I could have stopped with the black, but then it would reach just by the waist, and I wanted it longish.  On the other hand, making it that big turned out to be a bit over-sized for me – it fits my colleague perfectly, though, as she’s taller and bigger than I am.  So now I want to make a smaller one that will fit me better, but long enough as well.

So that’s my show and tell for the Blizzard projects.

What did you work on?

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Snowed-In Show and Tell

  1. Great projects! Your weaving inspires me to get out my loom. Take care and I hope you’re able to resume life as you know it.

    • This is a Cricket 15-inch rigid heddle loom. They also have a 10-inch width. I would suggest taking a class first, if there’s any available in your area. Yes, it’s great for making scarves; I’ve made a few SO scarves with the loom.

How do you like this?

