Panel Blanket 

Winter came suddenly, and I realized I didn’t have a blanket in the car for those emergencies when we sit by the roadside waiting for Triple A to come, or for any other emergencies. So I had an idea to weave a blanket for the car, and a way to use up odds and ends. Since I have a 15-inch Cricket loom, I knew I would have to make several panels.

It started with the first panel … I found full skeins of six colours, and decided to start with those. After I finished, I found it too dark …

 

So then I decided to add more colours, but keeping main colours throughout …


By Panel number three, it was claimed already …

 

I just finished the fourth panel … The most problematic of them all.  
One selvage came out loose and uneven. I know the tension was off, and had to rewarp twice, and it was still a problem. I kept on, though, adjusting as I went along, and thinking that it can be fixed as I join them together.

I lay them side by side, thinking that it would be wide enough now to start joining, and the borders, would add some width to it.

 

 

 

But the boys said to add a fifth panel, so they can wrap it around them.  So on to a fifth panel.

In the meantime, I’ve been running ideas and options through my mind on how to join them together.  The most common way seems to be to use a serger to sew the edges, so they don’t unravel. I don’t have that, so it’ll have to be by hand, using the mattress stitch, or a figure 8 join.  The selvage on about three sides will need to be fixed, because of the uneven tension, so I was also thinking crochet a border around the panels first, then join. Next,  I feel I should wet-finish it first, then join, then cut. But others have said to join together first, then wet-finish.

So … Let me get this down on paper so I can see the process if it’s right …

1 – crochet a border around;

2 – join panels evenly down the length, either sew or crochet join;

3 – wet-finish;

4 – cut and trim to size;

5 – crochet a border around.

Does that sound right?  Or take out step 1, and just do the next four steps.

Any tips on what the process should be?

 

5 thoughts on “Panel Blanket 

  1. Pingback: Revisiting the Bucket List – Colouring With Yarn

How do you like this?

