On a Roll with Beach Cover-Ups

It’s summer, and once again my thoughts run towards crocheting a beach coverup.  Never mind that I already had patterns saved from last year, and I did start, but it didn’t come out looking right, so it was set aside for another time.  I browsed through Pinterest, Ravelry, Craftsy, Etsy, Facebook, and clicked on websites leading me to other websites … And then came back to square one.

Cover-up Number One:  I only have two hanks of this bright multi-colour yarn, so I thought it would make a nice beach cover up.  The pattern is from Yarnspirations – Beachy Keen Cover Up, and I figure that the two hanks should be enough.  I showed it to Just, and he said he didn’t like it … said the colours were ‘too fruity’.  Huh??  ‘Fruity’?   I looked at it again.  It’s just for the beach, I thought, nothing fancy.  Somehow, that gave me second thoughts and it was set aside …

img_3074

 

Beach Cover-up Number Two:  I picked up another WIP, started since last year.  This started out as a shawl/wrap, and also to practice that yo, k2 together stitch (which I thought was the brioche stitch, but it isn’t).  After using up two hanks, my brain said that it was too lacy for a shawl/wrap, and since I had beach cover-ups on my mind, I thought maybe I should convert it to one instead.  I only had basic sewing, way back when, but I suddenly remembered the basics of garment construction, etc.  So, since it was almost a rectangle, I folded the short end about 10 inches over, joined the sides together to form sleeves, and voila!  a lacy, long shrug!  I used the other hank to knit around the edges and sides, to widen the side panels and for the border, continuing in the same pattern. See those solid strips?  When I lost count of the yo, k2 tog, I would just knit 3-4 rows of garter stitch and start over.   It’s turned out okay, so here I am testing it out at the beach.

img_3068

 

Beach Cover-up Number Three:  And somewhere, somehow, something clicked in my brain … And I decided to try the Whimsical Duster with the KnitPicks Felici Sunset colours.  The pattern called for worsted weight, but since I was working with fingering/sock yarn, I had to make adjustments … and miscalculated … After a couple of froggings, it finally looked like it was the right measurements and gauge, etc.


Another miscalculation on the length and how finished items can stretch … I stopped crocheting when it was about knee-length, then added the borders.  Since the stitches were looking bulky and twisted, I decided to give it a quick soak and gently squeezing out the water, then laid it to dry … It’s looking rather long, I thought.

Sure enough, when I tried it on again after it was dried, the length was now down to my ankles … *sigh* … No, I am not frogging that to adjust the length.

img_3379
And encouraged that I actually finished with two usable cover-ups, I’m now planning a third, in different colours … and a tunic-style one … I have to be careful now that I don’t get too ambitious … But hey!  if I don’t finish before the summer trip, I could always finish it while on the beach and then just slip it on, right?  Right!

How’s your summer going?

 

 

One thought on “On a Roll with Beach Cover-Ups

  1. Pingback: Revisiting the Bucket List – Colouring With Yarn

How do you like this?

