Vacation Crocheting

This is what I was working on out on the beach … Surprise!  more beach cover-ups!  lol

Actually, I did work on other stuff, but was still obsessed with beach cover-ups and tunics, etc.  It was so good to just sit and crochet, with minimum interruptions.  I was really enjoying this pattern, and couldn’t wait to see how it turned out.  Again, this was based on a famous Asos tunic pattern (which I hadn’t heard or seen in stores or publications until I was looking for a pattern).

There was a little tweaking on the shoulders and sleeves – those were frogged twice.  The lengths didn’t match 🙂  The border along the bottom was also frogged, until I liked how it looked.  I still had almost a full ball of yarn, so I thought maybe I should make it longer, then changed my mind again. I figured I would make a long skinny scarf with the remaining ball of yarn to match the top. (It hasn’t happened yet).

And because it finally clicked in my mind how crocheted garments are or can be  constructed, I started another one, with a little variation …

A couple of days after this photo, I frogged this to the neckline.  I found the armholes (those two spaces on the side) to be a bit too big and loose on me.  After adjusting the sizing of the armhole, this turned out to be a sleeveless top, which became a daily favourite of mine while out on the beach or the pool.

And what did I do with the rest of the yarn that I brought with me?  There were some that were not pictured with this photo … I didn’t touch them either, and they remained in the suitcase.  From this pile, I wound up the green/yellow/blue hank while on the plane, and started a blanket (because that’s what the boys said to make, but I’m not so sure again if I will continue with that …)  The grey hank on the right and the purple/blue hank on the left were wound up into balls, with plans to start a capelet with either one to work on during the flight back home … It’s not turning out quite right, so it’s on hold for now …

But with cooler winds coming, my mind is whirring with ideas of what I want to work on next … We’ll see how it goes …

 

How do you like this?

