Obsessed With Cakes …

Caron Cakes, that is.

On the last day of our vacation, photos of these cakes started filling up my newsfeed.  A new yarn! five colours in a ball!  and see how huge they are!  (yes, they were huge balls – they covered my face).  I had to get out to Michael’s (who was carrying them exclusively) as soon as I could.  But not knowing when that would be, I went online to order … and before I could finish the purchase, colours and amounts I had chosen were slowly running out of stock!  I managed to get two colours …

Miraculously, the chance presented itself the next day … my son had an early morning soccer practice session, and asked if I could drop him off … Well, now .. early morning wake-up on the day after we get back from vacation, having arrived late the previous night?  I really wanted to sleep-in for another hour or two … but then, what better time to go to Michaels?  The boys didn’t even notice that I wasn’t grumbling about getting out for a practice session so early …

I was one of the first three customers that morning at Michael’s, and I made a bee-line to the cakes … Well, I sort of twisted from one aisle to the other, trying not to make it obvious, I don’t know why.  And this is what I found …

14102144_1090366031018346_5313285702476089186_n

I thought I was too late already!!  but as I paid at the cashier’s, 14088669_1090366064351676_7338846668569125064_nI was told that there were more boxes in the back, and that they would be stocking up the shelves later that afternoon,
so I should return later in the day.  Well, I knew that I wouldn’t be able to return later that afternoon … I settled myself with four colours.  I wasn’t sure if I liked how that lime/green/purple combination would turn out, so I didn’t get that.  ha!  See?  I don’t buy all the yarn on the shelves!

I did have a project in mind this time, and why I wanted those Boston and Butter cream colours … I thought it was time to make that poncho-capelet. So I started …

14021721_1090367184351564_4681337388448689186_n

… And found out that it was more of a self-striping yarn than a gradient.  Actually, I don’t know if I really thought of it as slow-changing colours.  I did expect some sort of transition from colour to the other, but there weren’t any.  Well, maybe for one or two stitches only, then the colours change.  However, on looking at what I had so far, I wasn’t seeing any abrupt colour changes that was bothering me, and so I continued.

Over the weekend, I got a chance to go to Michael’s again … and this time, the shelves were better stocked … yaaayyy!!  What a difference!  So I got some more new colours to add to the collection … but still none of that lime/green/purple cake …

Out of all the cakes, this is the one that has caught my eye .. the Red Velvet.  And so of course, I start a project with the pattern that I’m currently obsessed with …

14102589_1093674544020828_2618783063234169163_n

LoL  … have you ever been obsessed with a pattern and make it with different yarns and colours?  Well, this is fast becoming one of those … And I need to finish one of these soon!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Obsessed With Cakes …

How do you like this?

