Crochet Unevenly

I thought I was done with this modified Baktus pattern scarf.  Vaguely, I remembered reading of a scarf pattern that was straight on one side, and the increase and decrease was on the other side.  As usual, miscalculating on the amount of yarn and the number of stitches, I finished the two balls of yarn that I had with a scarf that was more of a trapezoid than an obtuse triangle.  So I put it away …

Until I discovered two more balls stashed away in my ‘yarn for current WIPs’ that I had forgotten about !  You see why you need to organize your yarn, so that you know how much yarn you have for a project that you’re working on, or know where to look for more?  lol … Oh, and now I know what this yarn is … the first two didn’t have labels, so I didn’t know if I could find these selling anywhere.   These two balls had the labels folded and inserted in the middle of the wound-up balls.


Good …  I could use the two balls to knit a border around, making the scarf bigger and wider.  The stitches would be perpendicular to the body, but I figured that would be an interesting design instead.  hmmm … just noticed that I’m using a lot of geometry terms for this scarf …

img_0190

I got tired of picking up stitches, so I decided that I would just crochet the border around, instead of cramming all those stitches to knit on the circular needles.  Pattern instructions would usually say ‘crochet evenly around’.  Well, because of the thick and think strands, and the resulting thick and thin stitches, it didn’t feel that it was an even crocheting around.  I continued on, anyway, loosening and tightening the stitches as I went along.  Every once in a while, I would insert two single crochets in a loose stitch, so that the yarn wasn’t pulling across tightly with one single crochet, or too loose because it stretched too much.


So now, I have another finished scarf … yaaayy !  It is in some sort of triangle shape now, and the border edges are kind of rolling up  … but it’s so nice and soft and squishy …

 

5 thoughts on “Crochet Unevenly

  1. Pingback: Through the Years – Colouring With Yarn

  2. I LOVE this! Love the colors, and the different textures of the yarn. I think it’s perfect and you finished it beautifully. 🙂 I’m always wondering what to do with all my unfinished WIP’s too….find all those whoopsies in a bag too…;)

  3. Ooh, I love the colors of that yarn! And I’m not normally a huge fan of thick and thin yarns but that one looks lovely. It’s a very pretty scarf, and such good luck you found the extra balls!

How do you like this?

